The Pressure of Being Young

The million dollar question: “What do you want to do in life?” 

I’ve been asked that since I was about five years old, you know family casually asking what you want to become when you grow up. The answer always change because as a child you have no idea. Even as you grow up you have no idea. It get’s imprinted in our minds that as soon as we turn adults we should have a well thought plan of what we would like to become and how we are going to do it. But trust me, that’s not always the case.

I felt the stress of choosing a profession that I chose not based on what I wanted but what I thought was expected of me because from day one we heat that this and that job doesn’t pay much or this and that job is very hard to get in to. We stress about choosing university at the ages of 18/19 an age where you’re not sure of anything. I chose based on what my parents did and boy do I regret it now.

What do I want then? I want to become a writer. Everyday, I make up different stories in my head, I have quite the imagination and I love living in that fantasy world where anything can happen. 

What I want to say is: to all of you young people or if your older and are stressing over what you should become, don’t! Take your time, otherwise you might become miserable, doing a job where the life is slowly getting sucked out of you. Try different things, experience. And people always say that you can become whatever you want, and that is true. If you work hard enough, anything is possible I promise.

Love, Sara 

Leave a Reply

